Planet Formation   Space Physics &
Space Sensorics
         figure: ESA
TU Braunschweig Siegel


Mendelssohnstr. 3
D-38106 Braunschweig


TEL. +49 (0)531 - 391 5214 Susanne Becker
FAX +49 (0)531 - 391 5220  
TEL. +49 (0)531 - 391 5224 Nicole Reinke
FAX +49 (0)531 - 391 8126  


Karl-Heinz Glaßmeier announced a Fellow by AGU
The American Geophysical Union (AGU), the most important scientific society, announced Prof. Karl-Heinz-Glaßmeier a "AGU Fellow". About this award, the AGU homepage states:

"Each year since 1962, AGU has elected as Fellows members whose visionary leadership and scientific excellence have fundamentally advanced research in their respective fields [...]. AGU Fellows are recognized for their scientific eminence in the Earth and space sciences. Their breadth of interests and the scope of their contributions are remarkable and often groundbreaking. Only 0.1% of AGU membership receives this recognition in any given year."

We congratulate on this important distinction.

Furthermore, the Council of the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR) of the International Council for Science (ICSU) elected Prof. Glaßmeier its new vice-president.
Measurement campaign on the roof of the world
The International Research Training Group "Geo-ecosystems in Transition on the Tibetan Plateau (TransTip)" has successfully concluded this year´s measurement campaign at the research station NAMORS at the Nam Co-Lake on the Tibetan Plateau.

IGeP member Andreas Hördt blogged here about the team´s work on the "Roof of the world".
Matthias Bücker and coauthors receive Ludger Mintrop Award 2018
The European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers (EAGE) honours Matthias Bücker and his coauthors Adrian Flores Orozco, Andreas Hördt, and Andreas Kemna with the Ludger Mintrop Award 2018. As first author of the paper "An analytical membrane-polarization model to predict the complex conductivity signature of immiscible liquid hydrocarbon contaminants", published in "Near Surface Geophysics", Matthias Bücker received the award on March 11 in Copenhagen from Prince Joachim of Denmark.

Regarding the criteria, the EAGE homepage states: "The Ludger Mintrop Award is presented to the author(s) of the best paper published in Near Surface Geophysics in the calendar year preceding the award. The paper should be of high scientific standard and should represent a significant contribution to one or more of the disciplines in our Association".

This is the second time in succession that the Ludger Mintrop Award goes to an IGeP member: Last year it was awarded to our former member Sven Nordsiek and his coauthors.
Philae found!
ESA's Rossetta Blog entry "Philae found"!.

Animation of landing

More about the animation
Best Poster award for Katharina Bairlein
At the International Workshop on Induced Polarization, held from 8.6. 5th to 8th of June 2016 in Aarhus, Katharina Bairlein recieved the best poster award. The Workshop is the most considerable event in the field of induced polarization which is also the topic of Katharina's thesis. Especially the scientific originality and the well thought-out presentation of her contribution was emphasized.
Rosetta blog: more about the comet's cavity
After the publication about the diamagnetic cavity by Götz et al. in the journal Astronomy and Astrophysics a new entry about the discovery of the cavity can be found at ESA's Rosetta Blog.
AGU Outstanding Student Paper Award for Christian Nabert
For his contribution Efficient estimation of MHD parameters from magnetosheath observations Christian Nabert, MSc was honored with the Outstanding Studend Paper Award by the American Geophysical Union (AGU).
Braunscheiger Bürgerpreis for Philip Heinisch
On 6th of Dezember 2015 Philip Heinisch was awarded with the Braunschweiger Bürgerpreis. His work for the Rosetta Mission implied an important contribution to the determination of Philae's position on the comet surface.

A press release by the TU BS can be found here.
NDR-Info and Deutschlandfunk report about the new research group "Trümmerscheiben"
The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft granted a research group about the cosmic debris disc under the leadership of the University Jena (Prof. Alexander Krivov). The contribution of the TU Braunschweig (Prof. Dr. Jürgen Blum) to this research group is meant to be laboratory experiments to collisions between icy agglomerates. The derived collision models are meant to help other participating scientists to search for invisible planetary bodies in the debris discs.

In August NDR-Info gave a report about the research group and IGeP's contribution to it via radio. It was followed by a report via Deutschlandfunk in November 2015.
Heinrich-Büssing-Preis for Bastian Gundlach
The Braunschweigische Hochschulbund awards the Heinrich-Büssing-Award for outstanding dissertation written at the TU Braunschweig. Bastian Gundlach is one of three recipients in this year for his work. He is honored for his work abaout "Surface processes of small solar system bodies".
Bastian Gundlach

updated: 11/05/2018 IMPRESSUM Privacy Notice webmaster responsible: Prof. Dr. Andreas Hördt